Whole Wheat Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

FullSizeRender 4 copyFullSizeRender 6

These cookies are like a mix between a granola bar and an oatmeal cookie. They pack really nicely as an afternoon snack. Honestly, I’m not lying when I say that they are REALLY filling and taste AMAZE BALLS. I have to refrain from eating like seven in a row ~ they’re that good. These are pretty easy to make. Most things can be changed to suit your own needs. For example, if you don’t have figs, you could use dates or prunes or add more applesauce or honey. This recipe is really forgiving so mix it up and use what you have on hand. Also, if you want you can of course use white flour but I loved the whole wheat flour texture and taste. Plus it’s healthier! So try these out you won’t be disappointed.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 c coconut oil
  • 4 figs (blended into a paste) I used food processor, but a blender should work!
  • 3/4 c applesauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/4 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 c rolled oats (I used steel cut oats and pulsed them a few times in the food processor)
  • 1/2 c chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 c semi-sweet or bitter chocolate chips

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F  (165°C)In a large bowl add the coconut oil, figs, and apple sauce. Blend until everything is incorporated and there are no chunks.
  2. Add the egg and vanilla and blend until thick.
  3. In a separate bowl add the flour, baking soda, salt, and oats
  4. Add the dry ingredients slowly into the wet.
  5. This part is optional, but I crushed my walnuts and fried them in coconut oil on med high for about 3 minutes or until brown. YUM.
  6. Add walnuts and chocolate chips to the mixture and fully incorporate.

These cookies are super easy to form into nice sized balls. I personally love a large cookie, but you can make about twenty small cookies or 12 large!

Tip: If you really want to cut back on your fat intake, you can substitute 1/4 cup of the coconut oil for 1/4 cup of applesauce. 

I calculated the total calories and here is the nutritional information:

(per cookie/20 cookies per batch)

Total calories: 150 cal

Total fat: 8g

Total fiber: 1.5g

I just wanted to tag along a side note. Remember that although the fat content is quite high, the ingredients used are really good fats. Plus you get the added bonus of fiber!

Just try to fit this awesome recipe into your nutritional requirements. If you don’t indulge in too much white bread, rice and sugary snacks this is a great alternative to make you feel full after eating only ONE. I swear it! And they taste amazing. I stored mine in the fridge and they kept for a good week. I also froze a batch once and they thawed beautifully. I really was surprised at how well these turned out. Usually I alter a recipe and it turns out okay-ish or it turns out amazing but I CAN NEVER reproduce it. So I was quite triumphant with these results. I’ve made them four times now and every time they were consistently great!

 

Leave a Reply

