Let us get down to the nitty gritty of Meal Prep

I’m writing this in response to my blog post ‘Meal Prep like a Champion’. One of my followers asked me to photograph my meals and write about that. What an exciting challenge. Thanks Jess for the encouragement and motivation to write this post!

In my last blog post it was more or less a summary of what you ‘should’ and ‘should’t’ do in relation to preparing your meals. Trust me the road may seem long and arduous but the end result is that you will be able to eat foods that make you feel good about eating. This is not just about what to cook and when ~ I mean who wants to be dictated to a weekly chart, scales, grocery lists?

So here are some examples of my meals that I prepped last week. I hope they give you some inspiration and don’t forget to tag your meals #mealprepchampion.

I’ve tagged along a few recipes so you can try them yourself. There are four recipes.

Week day:

  • Cumin Chicken Burger

  • Honey Dijon Marinade

Week End:

  • Slow Cooker South Asian Tacos

Snack:

  • 15-minute No Sugar Granola

 

IMG_3748

Prep:

  • The night before marinade your chicken breast in a ziploc bag.
  • (recipe to follow)
  • In the morning cook the quinoa
  • Cook your choice of veggies (I cooked some gai lan because I live in Japan)
  • I cut up some peppers for snacks/salads
  • pick your favourite fruit and cut it up for easy snacking.

Tips:

  • I marinaded four whole chicken breasts the night before. This way I made two meals at once! 
  • I like to use a loaf pan to put the marinaded ziploc bag into. It sits perfectly inside and if the bag has a leak, you can avoid those catastrophic oil spills)
IMG_3574
Meal Prep 1

IMG_3749

Prep:

  • I made the ground chicken meat and formed the patties and cooked them.
  • (recipe to follow)
  • I cooked the quinoa.
  • I steamed some frozen broccoli.
  • I made some homemade granola.
  • (recipe to follow)
  • blueberries for granola snacks or morning oatmeal.
  • I made fresh bread. (totally optional)

Tips:

  • Sometimes when I am taking out the chicken I will pre-make the ground meat and leave in the fridge overnight until I’m ready to cook it the next day.
IMG_3747
Meal Prep II

 

IMG_3824.JPG

IMG_3823.JPG
Weekend Meal Prep 

Me and my boyfriend cut down on how many times we go out for dinner so on the weekends (usually Saturday morning) I prep a really yummy meal that kind of breaks our usual weekly ‘healthy eating’ habits. I wanted to try making whole wheat tortillas and they turned out amazing. But you can use whatever kind of tortilla you like. If you’re keen to try to make these (super easy) tortillas I got the recipe here:

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2010/05/26/recipe-whole-wheat-tortillas/comment-page-71/#comment-721045

Recipes

Meal Prep 1:

Honey Dijon Marinade

Ingredients:

-1 tbsp honey

-1 tbsp of mirin (or white wine)

-1 tbsp dijon mustard

-2 tbsp lemon juice

-pinch salt and pepper

-2-3 tbsp of olive/avocado oil

-2 cloves diced garlic

Method:

  • Slice your chicken breasts vertically into 1 inch strips. Place them into the large ziploc bag (the bigger the better)
  • Add all the above ingredients to the bag and seal the bag leaving no air inside.
  • Incorporate all the ingredients using your hands to squish the bag.
  • Put in your loaf pan and let it marinade overnight or up to 4 hours.
  • Next day: fry on med. high heat for about 4-5 minutes each side.

IMG_3420

Meal Prep 2:

Cumin Chicken Burgers

Ingredients:

-1 slice bread

-1 egg; beaten

-1/4 tsp salt and pepper

-1 tbsp cumin

-1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

-1/2 med. sized onion

-2 cloves of garlic

 

Method:

  • 2 chicken thighs. Half frozen (makes it easier for the food processor to grind)
  • Cut the thighs into small bite size pieces and add onion and garlic and blend until the meat is ground.
  • Transfer to a large bowl.
  • Beat the egg and add it to the meat mixture.
  • Tear off bite size pieces of bread and add to the bowl.
  • Add your spices and mix it altogether.
  • Should make about 4 large patties or 6 smaller ones.
  • Fry on each side for 4 mins or until cooked fully.

Tips:

  • When you form the chicken patty make sure the middle of the burger is indented (make a bowl like shape) this will help the burger cook more evenly. 
  • I also like to put the lid on top of the skillet to help the cooking process. 

IMG_3663.jpg

 

Weekend Meal Prep:

Slow Cooker South Asian Tacos

Ingredients:

-4 chicken thighs (no skin)

-2 cups chicken broth

-1 tbsp chilli powder

-1 tbsp garam masala

-1 tsp paprika

-1 tsp onion flakes

-1 tsp salt

-1 tsp pepper

Optional Taco Toppings:

-diced tomatoes

-romaine lettuce

– dijon mustard aioli

-pickles

-greek yogurt

-shredded cheese

Method:

  • Place the 4 chicken thighs in the slow cooker and add all the ingredients to the pot.
  • Cover and set on low.
  • Cook for 6 hours.
  • Chop up into small pieces and serve hot or refrigerate for later

IMG_3822.JPG

Snack:

15-minute No Sugar Granola

Ingredients:

-2 cups steel cut oats

-1/4 cup coconut oil

-1 tbsp cinnamon

-1 tbsp chia seed

-1/4 cup crushed nuts (walnuts)

-1/4 cup dried fruit (prunes/raisins)

Method:

  • Mix all ingredients together in a big bowl
  • Preheat oven to 160°C
  • Lay the granola mixture onto a cookie sheet
  • Cook on either side for 10 minutes or until the sides are golden brown.

Tips:

  • Add the raisins and prunes once everything is cooked. I burned mine once~it was not a tasty batch!

IMG_3759.jpg

Leave a Reply

