Almond vs. Walnut ||Butter Cookies||

Walnuts are like the Karen’s of nuts. No one stops them in the hall saying “damn Karen, you’re looking super fly today.” But I’m here to tell you all that Karen just GOT HOT. I just creeped her Facebook and she is full of protein, omega-3s and less carb than her previously popular head cheerleader counterpart; the almond.

So what is the main difference between the almond and walnut?

Nutrition:

  • Fat

walnut 18g

almond 14 g

  • Omega-3 

walnut 2.5g

  • Protein

walnut 13g

almond 9g

source: http://www.prevention.com/food/healthy-eating-tips/health-food-face-almonds-vs-walnuts

Taste:

So yes, almonds tend to taste a little better, especially raw. I love throwing some almonds in a bag for a snack. So don’t get me wrong I’m not ditching the whole almond band wagon altogether. But I want to root for the underdog here. So let me lay down the law. Walnuts DO taste good. I personally love making almond butter so I was hesitant to buy the 2 kg bag of walnuts not knowing how and if I would use them.

So I got home from Costco, threw the walnuts into the food processor added a tablespoon of coconut oil and voila I had the smoothest, most delicious butter I have ever tasted. I encourage you to try it for yourself.

Price:

The main reason I decided to research the health benefits of walnuts is because of the low-price. Walnuts are half the price of the 2 kg bag of almonds. Since we all love getting a good deal I would say GO NUTS. pardon the pun. Buy two bags of walnuts and put them on EVERYTHING!!

Versatility:

  • Raw: eat as an afternoon snack.
  • Sauté: with your favourite oil and throw on a salad.
  • Walnut butter: 1 cup walnuts to 1 Tbsp coconut oil, blend until smooth.

||put on bread, eat from a spoon, make walnut butter cookies||

Walnut Butter Cookies Recipe

This recipe honestly took me by surprise it surpasses the peanut butter cookie recipe I made last week and it is SOOOO MOIST. MOIST I TELL YOU. So do yourself a favour and indulge in these anti-inflammatory, omega-3 rich yummy walnut butter cookies!!!

Walnut Butter Cookies.jpg

Walnut Butter Cookies 2

Sugar-Free Walnut Butter Cookies

  • Servings: 10-12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A sugar-free, anti-inflammatory, omega-3 rich walnut butter cookie recipe.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups white flour (your choice)
  • 1 tsp baking tsp
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 3-4 tbsp honey
  • 1 cup walnut butter

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F or 175°C.
  2. In one bowl combine all the dry ingredients and mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl combine oil, vanilla, honey and egg.
  4. Beat the wet ingredients and then add the walnut butter. Mix again.
  5. Add the dry ingredients slowly to the wet and continue until fully incorporated.
  6. Get a baking sheet and form 1 inch balls with your hand.
  7. Cook for approximately 10 minutes or until a little golden brown.

 

 

One thought on “Almond vs. Walnut ||Butter Cookies||

Leave a Reply

