Super Food Banana Bread

 

 

Super Food Banana Bread

So here we are again, I am revealing one of my success experimentations with coconut and oat flour (my two arch nemesis’). I’ve wanted to start using less white flour, but I just couldn’t find the right balance between the alternatives. So yesterday I did some research on coconut flour and found out a few of its quirks. Basically it is a thirsty mother who will consume all of your liquids. So, if a recipe calls for 1 cup of flour you can substitute it for 1/2 cup of coconut flour. The webpage I looked at suggested ‘not to experiment’ with new coconut flour recipes… so what did I do… I threw caution to the wind; while pinning my hair back and got to work planning my rebuttal.

So here we have the amazing and truly awesome Super Food Banana Bread. There is NO SUGAR, NO HONEY and NO ARTIFICIAL SWEETENERS! This is truly some good shiz, good for you and also packed with potassium, vitamin C and did I mention CHIA SEEDS. Chia seeds are amazing for you, basically they are full of healthy fats and protein with NO SUGAR (or carbs)!!! So I like to sprinkle the heck out of it and put it on everything. You should do the same!

 

easy and moist Super Food Banana Bread, made with oat and coconut flour, chia seeds and NO sugar and NO honey.

Ingredients

Dry

-1 cup oat flour

-1/2 cup coconut flour

-1/4 cup white flour (or gluten free mix with xanthan gum)

-2 tbsp steel cut oats (optional)

-1/4 tsp salt

-1 tsp baking soda

-1 tbsp chia seeds

Wet

-3 eggs

-2 tbsp yogurt

-1/4 cup coconut oil

-1 tsp vanilla

-1/4 cup raisins

-1/2 cup apple sauce

-2 tbsp soy milk (any kind is fine)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 170° C or 350°F.
  2. Grease up your baby AKA loaf pan (9 by 9, I think).
  3. Get two bowls, one for wet and the other for dry.
  4. Add the flours, oats, salt, baking soda and chia seeds in a bowl and mix.
  5. (If you are making oat flour, just place steel cut oats in a food processor and pulse until you get a fine texture)
  6. Now beat the eggs and then add the yogurt, coconut oil, and vanilla
  7. In a food processor (or a blender) add the raisins, apple sauce and soy milk and blend until the raisins are mixed into the apple sauce (it should look like little specks of brown flakes and should be mostly smooth)
  8. Now add the wet mixtures together and slowly add the dry into the wet bowl.
  9. Slide that mess into the oiled pan and bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour.
  10. I baked mine for 50 minutes and after 30 minutes I added some foil because it was getting a little brown on top.

If you have ever made Banana Bread before you know that the batter should be kind of sticky and wet. You want it to resemble that as much as possible so if you want to add a bit more yogurt or milk I would say go ahead and experiment, this is what I used and it turned out pretty moist but not as moist as (of course) the original sugar-loaded white flour recipe. But me and my boyfriend thought it was dang good and ate two helpings this morning for breakfast! So let me know how your recipe goes and always always remember to unravel your creativity (unravelty) 😉

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Super Food Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

